Album To Check Out: Mumford & Sons – Babel

I debated for a while if I should write a post on Mumford & Sons and their newest album Babel. It’s not like Marcus Mumford and his band needed more exposure. Mumford & Sons are probably one of the biggest bands in the world right now. They have a huge, ardent fan base who will follow them anywhere. They just played at Saturday Night Live two weeks ago, probably one of the biggest national stage on television. Marcus himself is married to an Oscar-nominated actress. The band could not possibly be more mainstream if they tried.

The rise to fame of Mumford & Sons has simply been phenomenal, as charted by their appearance here in St Louis. Two years ago, they were playing at a tiny bar that has a max occupancy of maybe 300 people. A year ago, they played a sold-out 2000 person venue. Next time they’re here, I fully expect them to play at a sold-out arena.

So why did I end up writing about Mumford & Sons? It’s not like I really enjoyed Babel either. While it is still definitely worth a listen, I think it is inferior to the phenomenal Sigh No More. Babel feels more overwrought and a bit boring, with far too many ballads. It almost seems like Mumford & Sons were trying too hard to recreate the epic sound reached by their debut record.

I guess the reason why I’m writing still about Mumford & Sons is because I’m still trying to hold on to those goosebumps I felt the first time I heard the first few opening chords of Sigh No More. The exhilaration I felt every time I shouted “Awake My Soul!” in car while driving. The pride I felt in being one of the first few fans of Mumford & Sons when no one else knew them. This will be the last time though. So this is my proper good-bye to them.

View the incredible Red Rocks video for I Will Wait embedded below.

Mumford & Sons – Babel comes out 9/25 via Glassnote (order here)

About boomingmusicscene

New life in nature and indie music
This entry was posted in Album To Check Out and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

