Concert Gallery: Purity Ring w/ Blue Hawaii @ Plush

PurityRing06Saturday night brought a twin-bill sweaty dance party to St Louis as Purity Ring  and Blue Hawaii were in town playing together. This was my second time seeing Purity Ring, having seen them last year at the much smaller Firebird. But the band’s popularity has obviously grown as the dance floor of Plush was packed with Purity Ring‘s fans excited for the spectacle they knew was coming. And what a spectacle it was. Purity Ring is known for the amazing light show that they bring to the stage when they perform live. Surrounded by lantern cocoons that producer/instrumentalist Corin Roddick controls with his custom, tree-shaped drums, Purity Ring elevates their blend of throbbing electro-pop songs with the synchronization of the lights. And together with Megan James’s soothing vocal, Purity Ring live just dazzles.

Fellow Canadians Blue Hawaii warmed up the audience for an exciting night ahead with their own blend of eclectic electronic sounds. I enjoyed their recently released record Untogether but actually thought their music would be more chill from listening to the album. Was I wrong. Live, Blue Hawaii turned up the knob and the beat of their songs and started the dance party early. It was an unexpected but very welcome surprise.

Browse the pictures I have taken from the show below and stream two of the recorded videos I took of Purity Ring covering Soulja Boy‘s Grammy and Blue Hawaii jamming out to their own Sweet Tooth.

About boomingmusicscene

New life in nature and indie music
This entry was posted in Concert Gallery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Concert Gallery: Purity Ring w/ Blue Hawaii @ Plush

  1. Oh my goodness! Amazing article dude! Thank you, However I
    am encountering difficulties with your RSS.
    I don’t know the reason why I can’t join it. Is there anybody getting
    identical RSS problems? Anyone who knows the answer will
    you kindly respond? Thanks!!

    • Thanks for the kinds words! Regarding the RSS feed, unfortunately, I am not really tech-savvy enough to understand how to fix any problems with it. It’s working for me when I click it. Perhaps it has something to do with the web browser you’re using? I’m using Firefox and it works fine. I heard Chrome does not work though.

  2. Beatriz says:

    I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like this one these days.

    • Thank you for the very sweet comment!! I didn’t even dare think my writing is any good! But I appreciate you visiting my little music blog! 🙂 The theme I’m using is a free template from WordPress. It’s called Twenty-Ten I think. I like it a lot because of the simple layout and great use of white space. I prefer (and I think most people do too) layouts which are simplistic rather than complicated with flash players and other tricks.

Leave a Reply

