Concert Gallery: Lollapalooza 2013

Lolla01So the reason why I haven’t updated my blog for the last couple of days is that I was out of town on vacation. For what, you say? I was in Chicago for my second Lollapalooza! This was second year doing the festival and the weather this time was amazing – cool and inviting, as opposed to the freak storm that forced an evacuation and left smelly, muddy pits last year. The bands as always, are the best part of Lollapalooza, and below I’ll give a short summary of the ones I saw.

For day 1, IO Echo started the festival off with some glammy rock. I then stumbled upon an amazing intimate acoustic set by Frightened Rabbit on the SPIN-curated Soundwave stage (the place to be to beat the heat and see intimate interviews and sets by bands).  Twenty One Pilots kicked off a super high energy set with a hot crowd. Houndmouth brought in some much needed breezy twang to their county-folk sound. Disclosure, Chicago, and House Music are a perfect much. I got to see Frightened Rabbit for a second time, a full band this time, before the inevitable crush that is the Lana Del Rey crowd. And yes, seeing Lana herself and fighting through the crowd was quite the experience. She is a goddess through and through, with her flowing red dress, her flower crown, and her smoking cigs. For a nightcap, I went to Schubas to go see Little Green Cars and their beautiful blend of folk-pop, which turned out to be my favorite performance of the day.

I rested in a bit for Day 2 before heading out so I didn’t see a lot of bands, but Ellie Goulding proved how big her appeal is with the massive crowd for her midday set. The National rocked it as always and Matt Berninger seems especially manic in his performance (I loved it). Mumford & Sons closed the night as the biggest headliners of the festival with 200,000+ people singing along in unison. I then went to Lincoln Hall for an aftershow with St Lucia providing some good-time island vibes and HAIM proving that they are future superstars to come. (And how adorable is it that their parents played with them?)

Finally, for Day 3, I was able to catch a quick vibe of the super -fun energy emanating from The Mowgli’s, before passing through the drowning sound of Baroness. I then waited in line for the start of a stacked line-up at the Bud Light stage. Two Door Cinema Club started the dancing, even as the band kept it classy. Vampire Weekend proved they are deserving of being true headliners with their catchy songs and incredible set. The crowd justifiably went bonkers for them and they gave the best performance of the festival for me. Phoenix then closed the night and Lollapalooza right for me with their feel-good dance music, flashing lights, and amazing showmanship. It was a true dance-fest til the end. And I wouldn’t have it any other way. Lollapalooza 2013 is in the books.

Check out the 80+ photos I took from the festival at the gallery below as well as a variety of videos that I recorded.

About boomingmusicscene

New life in nature and indie music
This entry was posted in Concert Gallery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

