Album To Check Out: My Brightest Diamond – This Is My Hand

my_brightest_diamondI talked a bit about My Brightest Diamond, aka the music project name of New York-based singer-songwriter Shara Worden, when she released her EP None More Than You a few months back. Having emerged from the shadow of Sufjan Stevens where she was part of Steven’s backup band and vocalists, Worden has become quite a performer on her own. Often attracting attention as much for her showy performance art as her eclectic singing style, My Brightest Diamond mixes the best elements of operatic theater with classical music to produce music that is unique and challenging.

Now with her newest and fourth overall record, This Is My Hand (of which None More Than You was a companion EP of), My Brightest Diamond is once again challenging the notion of what a contemporary indie record should be like. This time, Worden was attracted by the tribal power and pomp of marching bands. Inviting the Detroit Party Marching Band to play on opening track Pressure, My Brightest Diamond created a record that is as much about pageantry as it is about making connections through the wordless art of music.

My Brightest Diamond is coming to St Louis. She will be playing at The Old Rockhouse on 11/19 (tickets here)

Watch the video for Pressure embedded below.

My Brightest Diamond – This Is My Hand comes out 9/16 via Asthmatic Kitty (order here)

mybrightestdiamond

About boomingmusicscene

New life in nature and indie music
This entry was posted in Album To Check Out and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

