Favorite Songs of 2014

Here are my other 2014 Rankings if you missed them:

Favorite Concerts 0f 2014
Favorite Albums of 2014

Well, it’s about that time of the year.  After a full year of listening to songs, attending concerts, and contemplating lyrics, it’s time to reveal my year-end list for the best of 2014 in music. It’s always hard to quantify why a song or album is better than another, so I’ll just preface by saying that these are my subjective favorites. There’s nothing objective about this list.

We’ll start off with my favorite songs of the year today, before going on to list my favorites shows among the ones I attended tomorrow. We’ll then finish off with my favorite albums for the year on Thursday.

The songs on this list are songs officially considered singles by the bands who released them. There are no deep cuts on this list. The list below should give you an idea of which albums made my favorite albums list in 2 days.

20. Sylvan Esso – Coffee

19. Alvvays – Archie, Marry Me

18. Taylor Swift – Out of the Woods

Could Taylor really make my top albums list?!

17. St Vincent – Birth In Reverse

16. Nickel Creek – Destination

15. JJ – Dynasti

14. Shovels and Rope – The Devil Is All Around

13. Sharon Van Etten – Every Time The Sun Comes Up

12.  Lykke Li – Heart of Steel

11. Jenny Lewis – Just One Of The Guys

10.  The War on Drugs – Under The Pressure

09. The Orwells – Who Needs You

I liked this song before the Apple commercial even came out, hah!

08. Allo Darlin’ – History Lessons

07. Sia – Chandelier

This was easily my favorite video of the year

06. Cloud Nothings – I’m Not Part Of Me

05. Charli XCX – Boom Clap

My favorite pop song of 2014

04. Future Islands – Seasons

Most epic live performance

03. Real Estate – Talking Backwards

02. Angel Olsen – Hi-Five

01. Strand of Oaks – Shut In

No song in 2014 comes close to how good this song is

About boomingmusicscene

New life in nature and indie music
This entry was posted in Favorite Albums of 2014 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

